Rain never bothered me anyway….

I had fallen asleep last night to the sound of rain and woke up to the same. During the night the noise of the wind blasting along the valley I was camped in made some fantastic sounds as the gusts blasted along the valley, sounding like a jet plane flying past at low-level.

Packing up, I decided to climb to the top of the valley to see what I could see.

IMG_8329

Having taken in the view, it was time to head back towards Lydford.

IMG_8332

It was out there somewhere!

IMG_8330

It was a great day for navigation for knowing how to use a map and compass. After walking for two hours with little visibility, I decided I wanted to confirm my¬†position. Out with the ‘phone and on with its GPS. I was delighted to find that the GPS confirmed my position as exactly where I thought I had been. My map reading skills originally learnt in the Scouts had done me proud

IMG_8336

Getting back to Lydford, the rain abated,just in time for me to get back to the car and head home, stopping on the way for the obligatory fry-up.

So that’s May’s microadventrue squeezed in.

‘Til next month and the Summer Solstice.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

